Women in Toys honourees named

by TnP Staff
Published: 13 December 2017, 10:05
Quick Link: www.toysnplaythings.co.uk/qapqa

Pioneering toy industry women to be honoured in Wonder Women Awards Gala announced

Women in Toys, Licensing and Entertainment (WIT) has named its honourees for the annual Wonder Women Awards Gala, which celebrates industry leaders for their outstanding contributions in toys, licensing and entertainment.

WIT will induct Lifetime Achievement Honoree Norma Rosenhain, CEO of Creata, and Nancy Zwiers, EVP and Global CMO for Spin Master, who will be presented the Elise Lachowyn Mentorship Award.

The 14th Wonder Women Gala will taker place on Sunday, 18 February, 2018, and celebrate Wonder Women honorees and dozens of finalists in the following categories: Creator/Innovator, Licensing, Manufacturing, Marketing, Public Relations, Retailer, Sales and Rising Star Award categories. Winners will be announced on the night.

WIT will also recognise the Toys“R”Us President of Play, 11-year-old Ariana Gentry, with a special Wonder Girl Award for her toy expertise and passion for play. The WIT Foundation Scholarship program will present seven scholarships to student recipients at related toy, engineering and licensing industry-focused programs at universities around the world.

“We are pleased to honour and shine a bright light on this year’s accomplished honourees, finalists and award winners,” said Genna Rosenberg, Wonder Women Co-Chair and CEO at GennComm. “These dedicated leaders in business have curated remarkable achievements, and made impactful contributions in myriad ways – both through their work product, as well as by demonstrating a commitment to paying it forward to inspire those around them.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates an industry thought leader who personifies innovative and visionary leadership, and has made significant contributions to toys, licensing or entertainment. Norma Rosenhain is founder, owner and CEO of the Creata Group of companies, encompassing Creata,Centa IP, Ultimate Source, and Build a Bear Australia & Singapore. She has produced over 15 billion toys and distributed to 120 countries across her more than 30-year career.

The Elise Lachowyn Mentorship Award was established with the support of Tech4Kids to recognise outstanding industry mentors for the impact they have had on the professional development and career advancement for those they mentor. Nancy Zwiers is the EVP and Global CMO at Spin Master, and throughout her 25-year career has served as a role model and mentor with a strong commitment to the advancement of women.

WIT’s 2018 Wonder Girl Award honoree is charismatic Ariana Gentry, the first-ever Toys“R”Us President of Play. Ariana rose to the top of the ballot during the company’s 2016 President of Play Competition – standing out from more than 1,000 candidates thanks to her infectious smile and enthusiasm for play. She is the company’s resident toy tester and plays with the hottest products and games. She also regularly serves as a Toys“R”Us spokesperson at red carpet events, on social media and anywhere else the company needs a real kid’s input.

Coinciding with the North American International Toy Fair in New York City, WIT’s Wonder Women Gala is the organisation’s largest fundraiser. Last year more than 650 industry executives attended and contributed to funding WIT’s valuable programming.

Tickets to the Gala are now available for purchase here.